You are here:

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee develops and recommends to the Board, medium and long-term business development strategies. They ensure the delivery of agreed strategies by providing guidance, approvals, governance and monitoring.

John Holland-Kaye, Chief Executive Officer

John was appointed CEO with effect from 1 July 2014. He joined the company as Commercial Director in May 2009. From November 2012, John was Development Director and was responsible for delivering the £1 billion annual investment in transforming Heathrow, including the new Terminal 2: The Queen’s Terminal, which opened on 4 June 2014.

He was previously Divisional CEO with Taylor Wimpey PLC, having held a number of positions including Operations Director of Taylor Woodrow Developments and Commercial Director of Taylor Woodrow Inc. Prior to that, John was Managing Director, National Sales Division, of Bass Brewers, and has also worked as a strategy consultant with LEK Consulting for a number of high-profile businesses.

Ian Ballentine, Procurement Director

Prior to joining Heathrow as the Procurement Director in November 2012, Ian has held senior positions within procurement across a number of large infrastructure organisations. Ian not only brings with him a wealth of procurement knowledge, but also his broader experience as the Thames Water Engineering Projects Director delivering a £500m per annum construction programme, and more recently as the Network Rail Transformation Director successfully developing and delivering a £3Bn business change programme.

Stuart Birrell, Chief Information Officer (CIO)

Stuart joined the Company as Chief Information Officer in June 2015. He previously held this role at Formula 1’s McLaren Group where he built an integrated IT team of in-house experts and specialist suppliers to support the rapid growth of the business including new revenue streams.

Stuart knows the airport industry well, having spent three successful years as CIO at Gatwick in the run up to, and after, the sale of the airport by Heathrow in 2009. At McLaren Group, he has experience of working in a high performance environment, where you need extremely high levels of reliability and resilience. Stuart also brings expertise in the use of big data sets, cloud based solutions and IT security in support of business growth and increased productivity.

Normand Boivin, Chief Operating Officer

Normand Boivin joined Heathrow as Chief Operating Officer on 29 August 2011. Normand's most recent post was Operations Director for Aéroports de Montréal and brings almost 30 years’ experience of the aviation industry. He started his career in 1982 as an air traffic controller for Transports Canada, and has held several positions in the Canadian airport management sector including Vice-President Operations of Montreal’s two international airports; Facilities Development Director at Montreal Dorval Airport and General Manager at Quebec City Airport.

Javier Echave, Chief Financial Officer

Javier was appointed as Chief Financial Officer in November 2016. He joined Heathrow in January 2008 and was closely involved in establishing the current capital structure and positioning Heathrow as a strong credit in the financial markets. Over a four-year period up to 2016, as Finance Director for Operations and Performance, Javier played a key role in the delivery of a cost efficiency programme and in ensuring a rigorous appraisal of a multi-billion capital investment plan. 

Emma Gilthorpe, Strategy Director

Emma was appointed as Regulatory Director of Heathrow in September 2009 and later became the Strategy Director. Her responsibilities include Heathrow's sustainability strategy, master planning the airport surface access and regulation. She was previously BT plc's Group Director of Industry Policy and Regulation and has held a number of other senior regulatory and public policy roles in Cable and Wireless. Emma is also a non-executive director of South East Water Limited.

Clare Harbord, Corporate Affairs Director

Clare was appointed Corporate Affairs Director in July 2011. Her responsibilities include Heathrow’s Community Investment programme. She was previously Director of Communications at the Ministry of Justice and was responsible for all external and internal communications. Before that she was Head of Communications for German-owned energy company, E.ON and was responsible for all communications across the UK.

Carol Hui, General Counsel

Carol was appointed General Counsel in March 2009. She is responsible for legal affairs, business assurance, internal audit and risk management.  Prior to joining the Company, she was a Board Director and the General Counsel of Amey plc, Group Legal Director of TDG plc and Deputy General Counsel of BG plc. She was previously with Slaughter and May.  Carol was awarded European General Counsel of the Year by the International Law Office, and has won other recent awards from the Financial Times, Mulan Foundation, The Lawyer as well as the Legal 500. Carol is a Non-Executive Director of Robert Walters plc and a Board Governor of London South Bank University.

Paula Stannett, HR Director

Paula was appointed to HR Director in January 2013. She has worked at Heathrow for 13 years, most recently as HR Director for our Airports Division and Support Services and previously as programme lead for Heathrow's Winter Resilience. Paula has a strong record of engaging staff to successfully put in place organisational change and improvement.

Back to top

Our history

Vintage propeller airplane undergoing maintenance

From humble beginnings, Heathrow grew to be a major world airport.

Heathrow's history
We'll take Britain further